Spirit of Dragonflies

Guide to Awakening Your Inner Self – Begin Your Creative Journey Today

House as Home

Leave a comment

IMG_1875

In my last post I discussed making your house a home by decluttering one small step at a time. I am not really a small step kind of person because once I get started I can’t wait to see the results.

After living in my rental home for 9 months I finally have the living, dining, and kitchen in flow. Some pieces of furniture had to go and smaller, lighter furniture replaced most of the dark, heavy furniture. It was my office that just wasn’t working. After changing the furniture several times, cleaning out files, removing books (probably around 50) and decluttering other items I still did not feel it. Here was this office that I never sat in to write, read, or to work on my budget. Things began piling up on the floor which caused me to avoid this room. The living, dining room or front porch are the placed I felt more comfortable.

Interestingly when I originally saw the house I thought the back bedroom would be a perfect office and the front room a nice sunny bedroom. When my daughter was helping me move in she convinced me that the back room would be better for sleep because there were trees for shade and the front room was nice and bright for writing. I agreed. My advice – listen to your intuition. That small voice within that whispers the truth. I didn’t because I ignored the whisper for logic.

So today I spent my Sunday moving all of my shelves, books, desk, chairs and other items from the front to the back of the house which meant that my bed, dresser and end stands had to be moved to the front of the house. The nicely settled living and dining room were turned upside down for a while as the box springs, mattress, dresser and end stands sat waiting their turn for their new placement. It was great, the sheets, blanket and bedspread were washed as were the curtains. It made more sense to bring the pieces of furniture from the office first so I could situate the desk then bring in one book shelf at a time. Once the book shelf was in a place that felt right I would bring in the books. After all four bookshelves were set in a place that flowed I move on to the bedroom which took much less time to settle. Then it was time to see what was left in the living and dining room. As the time was running out I decided to bring everything left to the small bedroom.

IMG_3468

The top left is the back bedroom after the bedroom furniture was removed. While empty I took advantage of cleaning the room and smudging with Sage. I walked around the room saying affirmations for peace, love, abundance, joy, laughter, creativity, success, paying clients, and such. The top right photo is after my desk was placed in the room. The view to the outside is great and very inspirational. The leaves on the tree near the window turn a beautiful red in the fall. What a perfect scene that will be for writing inspiration. The bottom picture is the bedroom after cleaning and smudging. There was enough room for the bed, end stands, dresser and a perfect spot for my meditation alter.

My living and dining room are back in shape. The small bedroom has some items from the office that I need to go through so that is for another day. This is when I follow my own advice and take it one small step at a time. I will pull out some papers and spread them out on the carpet in the living room so I can sort, file and shred as needed. Then I will go through the remaining books another night to see if there are any I can donate.

I didn’t touch the closets so those are for another day. When clearing closet clutter I pull everything out and sort the clothing into my favorites and items that mix and match. Then I check to see if there are any items that I haven’t worn in the last year. If so, those go on a donation pile. Then as I place the clothing back in the closet I sort it by color. This makes selecting items to wear very easy. All dresses, blazers and slacks are together and sorted by color. This is easy because most of my dresses and slacks are black. Then I sort the colors of tops like the rainbow. This makes the closet fun and I really don’t have that many clothes anyway. For me too many pieces of clothing is a waste of time and money. We all generally wear the same thing every week so why bother having clothing I won’t wear. Shoes are the same. I am not a shoe-aholic like many women and I hear men too now. I can only wear one pair at a time so one brown and one black pair of shoes, two pairs of sandals and two pairs of sneakers. Then I have rubber boots, work boots, hiking boots, and snow boots. That’s it and they don’t take up a lot of space.

Next week, the refrigerator and cabinets. I can’t wait until every room in my house is flowing. Then I will invite family and friends for a get-together. I will be in my office this week writing. The energy is flowing in my home tonight and my energy is flowing as well. It feels great to clean and declutter. It is a better natural high than drinking spirits. Give it a try and let me know how it makes you feel.

I will keep you posted on my next steps and how long it takes me to put my small bedroom back together. You will also learn how I use feng shui to move energy and some easy fixes.

Love and Light,

Sandy

Author: spiritofdragonflies

My purpose in life is to inspire others to reach their goals, dreams, higher selves. Are you ready to transform your life forever? Allow me to guide you along the steps toward reaching your inspirational, exciting life. I am a lover of life, a certified QSCA Life Coach, Therapeutic Touch practitioner, Dale Carnegie Graduate Intern Trainer, amateur photographer, and aspiring writer taking steps to reach my own and loving every minute. Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

