Spirit of Dragonflies

Guide to Awakening Your Inner Self – Begin Your Creative Journey Today

Daily Mindful Habits for Changing Your Life

Leave a comment

Today I was thinking about the post from yesterday and thought about those small changes we make that become life-long habits. Some other small steps that you can take toward the changes you want to see in your life is to start paying attention to your daily habits, quirks, and ticks. We all have them but most of the time we don’t even notice. They are a part of us. So how do we learn about ourselves if we don’t even notice them?

If you have a close friend – very close who you trust and won’t anger you by telling you the truth – ask them to tell you. My daughter is telling me – I can’t really get angry at her now can I. Especially because I have asked for her to tell me. Have this trustworthy person watch your actions when you are together and let you know if you are slurping soup, picking your teeth, making unusual sounds while watching television/reading/eating. You get the picture. It shouldn’t be your partner unless you are absolutely sure that it won’t cause some friction in your relationship. Be prepared to feel a little sting when you learn something new about yourself that may not be pleasant.

Why would anyone want to put themselves through this you ask. Well, it is one way to become aware and to take the necessary steps to pay attention to when you are behaving in such ways. Some you may not want to stop, others you may. Becoming aware is the first step toward change. You can’t change what you don’t know you are doing.

The one thing about change is it starts with small things. Those small things add to larger things. Think about it. If you would like to move up in your career yet you sit their slurping your soup, talking with your mouth full, burping at the table while dining with your supervisor, the president of the company, the marketing director or someone in a position to benefit your future then you would want to be aware of any behaviors that may be offensive. What if you are out with some friends and they bring along someone who may have the perfect position for you at their company or a possible date? We never know when opportunity will knock on our door. It is when we become aware of our behaviors while alone, at home, with family and friends that we learn to be more self-aware of what might be holding us back.

People who are comfortable sitting around their home in comfort clothes, snacking/eating in front of the television, lying on the couch scratching their belly, picking their nose, wearing stained clothing because what the heck you are in the privacy of your own home and no one will see you. Well chances are they will because you are developing habits. Those habits can carry to the world outside of your home. I am not saying there is anything wrong with being comfortable in your own home however once we become more comfortable lounging around we begin to make excuses for not walking, exercising, getting out with friends, joining groups, volunteering. Comfort becomes the habit which can carry over into the workplace. It becomes who you are. Employers don’t generally promote the comfy person, they promote the go getters. Those who are magnetic and energized. Those individuals with goals, plans of action, follow through.

If you are ready for change in your life, ready for the new relationship, new experiences, new career, financial security, improved health or any other changes you may want then it’s time to get up and be that change. Throw out the old stained comfort clothing. Get up from in front of that television and eat your meals at the table with real silverware, plates and glasses. Pay attention to your manners and be the person you want to be whether you are home alone, on a date, with friends or family, volunteering, or at work. If you work at home alone this is especially true. Get up in the morning and shower, eat breakfast, sit at a desk and plan out your day to be the most efficient that you can be — make that extra call, meet someone for lunch, get up and stretch throughout the day.

As you can see, change is not that difficult if you take one small step everyday. Choose something that you would like to work on in your life and write down some steps you can take today or by tomorrow. I have faith — this is your day. This is the first day of the rest of your life and know it’s never too late to start.

As you will see form the photo below, I have developed a habit of having my home ready for guests at any time of the day or night. This is a habit I developed very early in life and kept up even when my children were small. We felt like guests in our home whenever we returned home, it was a welcoming sight and still is when my adult children come to visit. I never have to run around to pick up and clean when company is coming. It is a great feeling and something that means a lot to me. Another habit I developed is to sit at the table to eat dinner. After my children left home I still needed to eat and I didn’t want to give up eating at the table. This was something my children and I did for dinner every night and a tradition I did not want to lose. When anyone comes for dinner or even coffee / tea, we sit at the table. Everyone has a nice time and we catch up on life events, sometimes add in a game of cards or board game. If you notice in the picture below, I also like to purchase flowers for my table. What can you do in your life to make some positive changes at home that will carry out into the world? The cleanliness and welcoming feeling of my house follows me to my office at work.

House as Home - always ready for guests.

House as Home – always ready for guests.

If this has been helpful, please let me know. I would love to assist you with moving forward in your life and can assist with setting goals for baby steps and follow through. If you would like to learn more about the services I can provide through my life coaching business please let me know.

Love and Light,

Sandy

Author: spiritofdragonflies

My purpose in life is to inspire others to reach their goals, dreams, higher selves. Are you ready to transform your life forever? Allow me to guide you along the steps toward reaching your inspirational, exciting life. I am a lover of life, a certified QSCA Life Coach, Therapeutic Touch practitioner, Dale Carnegie Graduate Intern Trainer, amateur photographer, and aspiring writer taking steps to reach my own and loving every minute. Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

