Spirit of Dragonflies

Guide to Awakening Your Inner Self – Begin Your Creative Journey Today

Changing Weather – Changing Life

Leave a comment

They say pictures speak louder than words so here are a couple that I would like to share.

Nature's Vibrant Red Beauty

Nature’s Vibrant Red Beauty

This is a picture of the tree in my yard as it was when I left on Thursday morning. I had to travel to the Adirondacks for training on Thursday and Friday.

Snow in the Adirondacks

Snow in the Adirondacks

This is the view while traveling south of Keene, NY in the Adirondacks on my way home Friday afternoon. The snow covered trees were breathtaking.

One day of wind and rain - covered the ground in red

One day of wind and rain – covered the ground in red

This is a picture of my yard this morning. A few leaves remain on the tree. Apparently while I was away over night there was a wind and rain storm. The view changed quite a bit between Thursday and Friday. The ground covered in red was quite breathtaking.

This is the same for our own lives. We are always in the midst of change whether it be aging bodies, changes in the weather, job loss, birth of children, children leaving home, marriage, divorce, hair and clothing style changes, manufacturers changing your favorite products, or ultimately death of a loved one. Change is a constant in our daily lives.

This makes me question our response to changes. We fight it, become anxious worrying about it, but mainly fear it.

Let’s learn to embrace change, even look forward to it. If we don’t like the weather today, don’t worry it will be different tomorrow. If we are having a beautiful day, don’t worry about the rain or snow in the forecast, just appreciate the beautiful day you are having right now. If your children are leaving home for college or moving to their own place, don’t sit and worry about the empty nest, enjoy every minute that you are together today. Sell the nest, remodel the bedroom into an office or workout room, or sell the nest and purchase a new home. When my youngest was leaving home, my older daughter was relocating to California, and my son to Missouri. I was faced with a decision to make about my own life. My children were my life up to that point. I saw them all often and was too young to sit in a home that no longer housed a family. My decision was to stay and mourn my loss or sell and move to California. It had been a dream of mine since I was a teen to travel cross-country to California. That is exactly what I did. If I said I wasn’t anxious, that leaving a good paying job with benefits and a home near family and friends wasn’t stressful I would be lying. It was very scary and yet exhilarating. I would travel cross-country with my youngest daughter then put her on a plane to Florida where she would attend college. I knew for me, changing the bedroom to an office or repainting would not relieve my sadness. It was time to take the challenge and make big decisions about my own future. Today, ten years later I am back in New York State near family and friends but never regretted my decision to take the big step and break free. Relocating and living in California taught me that being proactive in my own life allowed me to flow through changes and enjoy each day no matter what that day might bring. When I didn’t like my first job, I sent out resumes and found a better job. I didn’t know anyone so my coworkers became like family and I joined groups. As a result I  met some very wonderful people who are still my friends today.

Living in the moment, appreciating what we have with a hope of working toward something better or possibly receiving more of the same can take away the anxiety, worry, and fear. If you can let go of fear you can learn to love life to its fullest. Change happens, it is our reaction to that change that makes all the difference. Embrace it and see what you can manifest!

Love and Light,

Sandy

Author: spiritofdragonflies

My purpose in life is to inspire others to reach their goals, dreams, higher selves. Are you ready to transform your life forever? Allow me to guide you along the steps toward reaching your inspirational, exciting life. I am a lover of life, a certified QSCA Life Coach, Therapeutic Touch practitioner, Dale Carnegie Graduate Intern Trainer, amateur photographer, and aspiring writer taking steps to reach my own and loving every minute. Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

