Spirit of Dragonflies

Guide to Awakening Your Inner Self – Begin Your Creative Journey Today

Finding Beauty and Peace Locally

Leave a comment

Today I thought it would be fun to share some of the local gems near my area. No matter what the season all of the locations can be visited. Some with snowshoes or cross-country skis but well worth it.

There are not many eateries or coffee shops, except for Dunkin Donuts near my work. One day I stopped in to purchase some stamps at the railroad station and discovered the coffee shop within. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. I generally order a cappuccino with soy and once in a while add in a dark chocolate bar. Last week a coworker and I walked over to the post office and to purchase a coffee. She noticed a new jewelry counter set up near the entrance to the trains so we checked it out. It was a local business man and his wife who just set up the store. Prices were very reasonable and both were friendly and helpful. I purchased a beautiful scarf.

Hidden gem in the train station

Hidden gem in the train station

Yesterday my home town of Stillwater, NY had an Old Time Caroling Cookie walk. Although not very many people showed up to carol it was a beautiful evening for the event. An assorted array of cookies were boxed and sold for $5.oo each at the local library. What a deal!

Local Treasures

Local Treasures

The block house, once housed at the Saratoga National Park, was moved several years ago to a farm the eventually the citizens came together to collect money and have it moved to the village. It is a beautiful location overlooking the Hudson River. You can visit inside and meet some local historians, sit on a bench and enjoy the scenery or bring a picnic and enjoy friends and family. My cousin was killed in one of the Twin Towers on 9/11, as she was a local girl the village planted a tree in her honor on the site.

Saratoga National Historical Park

Saratoga National Historical Park

I love walking in the Saratoga National Historical Park, lovingly know as the ‘Battlefield’ due to the Revolutionary War being fought in this location. While serving in the Army National Guard I was able to stay in shape and prepare for the yearly PT test by running on the road because it is marked every 1/4 mile. My favorite walks were those with my children hiking along the trails or cross-country skiing. Whenever I get the chance I head up to the Battlefield for a long walk in nature. It is well-preserved and they have reenactments throughout the year. There is one location near this red house where you can stand and look out to the east and see for miles. We always say you can see the mountains of Vermont from this location. It is a stunning view.

On my many walks over the years I have brought my own children, nieces and nephews, their children and my granddaughter. I look forward to sharing this experience with my grandson in the near future. Mainly I like to walk on my own so I can stop and lie in the grass and watch the clouds or sit and read or write in my journal. It is very relaxing and healing.

There is mainly farm land surrounding the park with the Hudson River to the east. There are many streams, woods, deer, coyotes, and other wildlife. It also is home to dragonflies of a variety of colors. When in need of peace and time away from the hubbub of civilization, this is the place to escape.

Love and Light,
Sandy

Author: spiritofdragonflies

My purpose in life is to inspire others to reach their goals, dreams, higher selves. Are you ready to transform your life forever? Allow me to guide you along the steps toward reaching your inspirational, exciting life. I am a lover of life, a certified QSCA Life Coach, Therapeutic Touch practitioner, Dale Carnegie Graduate Intern Trainer, amateur photographer, and aspiring writer taking steps to reach my own and loving every minute. Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

