Spirit of Dragonflies

Guide to Awakening Your Inner Self – Begin Your Creative Journey Today

Finding Beauty Everywhere

Leave a comment

Today, while walking in the park near my home just before sunset I thought about all the beauty in our world and how much goes unnoticed. No matter whether inside or out, whether in the city, suburbs or country we are surrounded by beauty. If we could learn to find the beauty in everything around us and focus on what this brings to our lives there would be less time to focus on what we don’t want in our lives. This is my goal for 2015 – only focus on what is working well and attract more of it. See the beauty in everything and that includes all of the people I come into contact with. Let me share some of the photos that I have taken over the last several months that I think are perfect examples of everyday beauty.

Shadows are everywhere, making patterns, allowing the viewer to open their perspective and wonder. How do the straight lines of the rail become zigzagged when light shines through? If we stop and question we can slow down and become conscious of our surroundings.

Designs in the shadows

Designs in the shadows

How many times when you wake in the morning do you take time to just lie and look around your room. I love waking to witness shadows on my window shade, sometimes dancing and other times stagnant. Dancing tree limbs occur a little more often in the summer and fall. Sometimes the patterns of the leaves form as faces, lace or many other designs. When the shade is open and I have lace sheers I will look for the patterns on my walls which look like artistic lace drawings.

Shadows on the shade.

Shadows on the shade.

When flying I am always surprised by the number of people who close their shades and ignore the view. This is such a shame because the clouds put on a beautiful display below and when the sky is clear the beauty of the earth below is amazing. I especially love when you can see the shadow of the plane on the ground below. One time while flying we were above the clouds and there was a beautiful display of lightning traveling across below us. Although a little frightening it was a breathtaking display.

Walking on the clouds

Walking on the clouds

I think a tree filled with magnolia blossoms is fascinating. The color, the texture and look at the pink lines rising up and fading into the white of the petal. When they first open if you are patient and view them daily you will see the magic of them opening for their short blooming period. I’m always sad to see them go at the end of the blooming season.

The pattern of the magnolia blossoms

The pattern of the magnolia blossoms

When near a swimming pool or any body of water watch for the patterns. The beauty of the sun shining on the water as it swirls results in wonderful designs and colors. I think this photo resembles an artists canvas.

Patterns in water

Patterns in water

Seeing the baby’s foot peeking out, especially this little foot that just left the sandy beach, also reminds me of a little piece of art. Look at the little tiny lines, the round little balls of the toes, the somewhat triangular shape of the foot. Is this not art? This little foot would be perfect as an art students model.

The lines on a baby's foot and their tiny toes

The lines on a baby’s foot and their tiny toes

When I viewed this photo after returning home from a hike the first thing I noticed was how the white resembles a painting more than an actual photo. I remembered how I loved watching the patterns flowing behind the duck as he paddled across the pond but hadn’t noticed the white waves until I stopped to look at the photo. This makes me want to get back out there to see what I hadn’t noticed while taking the photo.

Patterns in water behind the duck

Patterns in water behind the duck

The other day after I returned from the hike, I turned on the light to my new Scentsy Decanter then left the room. When I returned to the living room after showering darkness had settled in but there on the wall I noticed what appeared to be white hearts. It was such a beautiful sight in an otherwise dark room and brightened my own heart at the site.

Light Hearts reflected on the wall

Light Hearts reflected on the wall

As you can see there is beauty all around you, an artist canvas waiting to be explored. The next time you walk out your door, or when you wake tomorrow morning, please slow down to take in the beauty around you. If you have children point this out to them and ask them what they see. They might just surprise you.

Love and Light,

Sandy

Author: spiritofdragonflies

My purpose in life is to inspire others to reach their goals, dreams, higher selves. Are you ready to transform your life forever? Allow me to guide you along the steps toward reaching your inspirational, exciting life. I am a lover of life, a certified QSCA Life Coach, Therapeutic Touch practitioner, Dale Carnegie Graduate Intern Trainer, amateur photographer, and aspiring writer taking steps to reach my own and loving every minute. Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

