Spirit of Dragonflies

Guide to Awakening Your Inner Self – Begin Your Creative Journey Today

Living In-Between Past and Future

Leave a comment

Living in-between our past and future is where we can find our peace and love of life. This moment is all we have. This post is in the past as soon as it is written down. This means I should focus in the here and now. Hold this writing in a place of love and gratitude so as I send this out to the world beautiful energy is shared with all those reading.

When writing my story, I could focus on the drama of the past or fear I had of the future but that is no longer my story. My story has been rewritten and I am forever grateful to live lovingly in-between.

IMG_5600

What story are you writing about your life?

Every moment of your life is a blank slate. You can release, redefine, and refocus the story of your life at any moment. Are you ready to release the drama and focus on what isn’t working? You can redefine your life by deciding to shift and find ways to enjoy every moment. You can refocus on the things in your life that bring joy. How you ask?

  • Decide today is the day: Say out loud, “I have decided today is the day to create a new future.”
    • Just acknowledging that you are ready prepares the way
    • Action is needed – it’s not just the saying but by deciding on what steps to take
    • Take a small step or action every day – change your morning habits, your food choices, add in a daily walk or stretching, smile more, laugh a little more, do one thing a day to help you enjoy life more
  • Stop and visualize what life you want to live
    • You know what you don’t want – we all know when we aren’t comfortable with our lives and what we don’t want any more of – switch to focus on what you do want more of and put all of your energy there
  • Create a vision board, creative future box, gratitude journal, idea journal, script of your life
    • Watch for my video of creating a vision board in a future post
    • Find a small box, decorate it and write Creative Future Box
      • place items in your box that give you joy and love
    • Pick up a journal that brings joy and write down everything you are grateful for every morning or evening, write down ideas that come to you during the day (without judging), write a script of how you want to feel about your life

Remember, life is not a destination it is a journey. Everyday is part of that journey.

One of the most important new habits you can start is to learn to appreciate wherever you are today. There is always something in your life to appreciate. If you are alive and breathing, you can have gratitude. A gift someone gave you that brings you joy – appreciation. Food on your table – appreciation. Running water and clean drinking water – appreciation. If you have your health, employment, transportation — all things to appreciate. Start small and allow your appreciation to grow.

A gift you can give to yourself is to wake every morning and before getting out of bed take a few minutes, ten if possible but there is no actual amount of time needed, and think or say out loud all the things you are appreciative of or give gratitude for. This has changed my outlook on life and the day that is to unfold before me. We can always be grateful for all of our blessings in-between. That is in-between where we were and where we are going. If you are not appreciating and giving gratitude for where you are at any given moment, then how will we ever appreciate today, tomorrow or next year. You will have to remain in-between no matter where you are, there is nothing else.

It was the times in my life when I had gratitude for my blessings – children, warm clothing, warm home, food, car, employment – that no matter how little we had I always felt love and joy. I remember once when I didn’t really like my position, or company I was working for, but enjoyed the staff that I was supervising, the location, and hours. Focusing on my children, nature, health, education, and simple pleasures like hugs, laughter, playing games, picnics allowed me to remain in a good place. There were times when I focused on what I disliked and those days were long and hard. When I received notice that I was being laid off – remember I was a single Mom of three – I thanked my employer. Without any knowledge of how we were going to survive I was truly grateful for being laid off. I knew in that moment a door had opened and we would be fine. Not sure where that knowledge came from but in my heart I knew. That door opened so that I could attend college full-time. Seven years of study at the Community College and when that door closed another opened so that I could complete my Associates degree the next year. Was it easy – no. Was it worth it – Yes!

When I share with you strategies, techniques, processes, ideas – take what appeals to you and give it a try. It can’t hurt. I’m not saying to quit your job, change relationships, relocate – unless that is what you need to do. What will work is to learn to appreciate where you are because you are always in-between. That is where life is lived. Not in the future or clinging to the past. Release the past – it no longer has any control over you. Be grateful for those loved ones who have died but don’t allow yourself to give up on your own life. Be grateful that you had the time with them and send them love. If someone from the past angered you or did something to hurt you, release them by forgiving them with love and kindness. Then love yourself by living in the here and now. Learn how to be grateful for every moment of life – sometimes we have a bad day or bad week. Truthfully, when you learn how to live in daily gratitude those bad days become bad moments that you can easily put behind you.

Everyday will not be filled with laughter however everyday can be filled with peace and love. The only person who can control your thoughts, actions, and emotions is you. You can become drama proof because drama will no longer have a place in your life once you live in the in-between with gratitude.

I hope you have decided to try some of the ideas that were shared. They have helped me and many others on our life journey, I know they can help you as well. Please let me know if you try them and what shifts you make in your own in-between journey.

Love and Light!

Author: spiritofdragonflies

My purpose in life is to inspire others to reach their goals, dreams, higher selves. Are you ready to transform your life forever? Allow me to guide you along the steps toward reaching your inspirational, exciting life. I am a lover of life, a certified QSCA Life Coach, Therapeutic Touch practitioner, Dale Carnegie Graduate Intern Trainer, amateur photographer, and aspiring writer taking steps to reach my own and loving every minute. Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

